Thursday, April 09, 2009

John Baldry - Everything Stops For Tea (1972)
"Like its companion It Ain't Easy, the second half of Long John Baldry's early-'70s comeback Everything Stops for Tea initially attracted the most attention via its producers, former Baldry sidemen Elton John and Rod Stewart. The two superstars each handled one side apiece and, though neither shines with the same generous idiosyncrasies that saw the earlier LP sparkle, still they power Baldry to some marvelous heights -- most notably the should-have-been-a-hit cover of "Iko Iko," and a glorious "You Can't Judge a Book by Its Cover." With Baldry's musical tastes now drawing folkier textures into his blues (and eschewing the big ballad pop altogether), it's a varied and oft-times eclectic collection. But the strength of Baldry's performance smooths over any rough edges that might have tripped other singers and, though It Ain't Easy remains the superior of these two albums, this one really isn't that far behind it. (Dave Thompson, All Music Guide)

"Long John Baldry - Everything Stops For Tea was recorded in Jan/Feb 1972 in London, England. Side one was produced by Elton John and side two was produced by Rod Stewart. The record was released in Spring 1972 and Long John Baldry spent the rest of the year touring North America to promote the album. The artwork for the album was by Ron Wood based on the Alice in Wonderland story.

Long John does blistering versions of Willie Dixon's You Can't Judge A Book and Seventh Son. Mother Ain't Dead is a great acoustic folk song that Long John Baldry and Rod Stewart duet on. This was the second time they had ever recorded together as Rod sang on Up Above My Head which was released on United Artists in the UK, 1964. For all the Rod Stewart fans and collectors this will be a great opportunity to pick up a rare Rod Stewart recording seldom heard. Other faves include Iko, Iko, Jubilee Cloud and Hambone. As with the re-release of It Ain't Easy, bonus tracks of unreleased material is also included." (

1. Intro: Come Back Again
2. Seventh Son
3. Wild Mountain Thyme
4. Iko Iko
5. Jubilee Cloud
6. Everything Stops For Tea
7. You Can't Judge A Book
8. Mother Ain't Dead
9. Hambone
10. Lord Remember Me
11. Armit's Trousers
12. Radio Spot #1
13. Bring My Baby Back To Me (Live)
14. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
15. I'm Just a Rake & Ramblin Boy
16. Radio Spot #2


Part 1__Part 2__Part 3__Part 4

See ya!


Blogger bosshoss said...

I've just found out about Your blogg and it's just amazing. I'm all over the place.... It's like a kid in a candy store!!!! WOW!!!!

3:24 PM, April 11, 2009  
Blogger GarColga said...

Hi bosshoss welcome to the blog. Now calm down.

7:56 PM, April 14, 2009  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for the share. Pity it's not individual FLAC files instead of one big one, but hey, can't have everything!

1:31 AM, May 04, 2009  
Blogger GarColga said...

Hi anonymous - you can use the "cue splitter" app listed on the right hand side of the front page to separate the flac image into individual flac files. Much easier though just to use the cue sheet.

5:08 AM, May 04, 2009  

Post a Comment

<< Home