Monday, June 29, 2009

Brainticket - Voyage (1982)
"Voyage" continues where "Adventure" left off with more strange sonic cosmos and amazing percussive tones and moods. Essentially "Voyage" was a live in studio jam which got carried away one evening and was captured on tape for the world to enjoy. Once again we are surrounded by the electronic genius of Joel Vandroogenbroeck and his gang of merry men. "Voyage" seems to be more devoted to exploring the percussive side of their music in sharp contrast to "Adventure" and "Celestial Ocean". "Voyage Part 1" would certainly rank as one of my all time electronic Krautrock favs. 3 more bonus tracks have been included as well in the same vein as those found on "Adventure". (James Unger

1. Voyage Part 1 (19:07)
2. Voyage Part 2 (18:06)
Bonus Tracks:
3. Skyline [Analog 1970] (8:10)
4. Underworld Paths (7:20)
5. Nebula (4:45)

Joel Vandroogenbroeck - Keyboards, Flute, Guitar, Vocals
Hans Deyssenroth - Keyboards, Synthesizers, Computer
Barney Palm - Drums, Percussion, Strange Sounds
Wilhelm Seefeldt - Synthesizers, Computer


Part 1__Part 2__Part 3


Friday, June 19, 2009

Virus - Revelation (1971)
"Originating from Bielefeld in Northern Germany, the roots of Virus go back to the early-1960's, with Bernd Hohmann in the school band The Moonbirds, later joining up with Man's World, a rock 'n' soul band, who gradually transmuted into Virus circa 1970. Another Virus root starts in 1966, with Wolfgang Rieke of the award winning Percy & The Gaolbirds. All the founding members were experienced talents and well-known musicians of the Westphalia region.

Virus were justly one of the most legendary of Krautrock bands, notably in that their debut took the Pink Floyd type of space-rock sound onto new uncharted realms. REVELATION was aptly titled, being full of invention and surprises within long tracks that sported extensive guitar work-outs, swirling organ, free-riffing and lots of interactive musical interplay, no less so that on the very free adaptation of "Paint it Black" and a most astonishing diversion on a "Saucerful Of Secrets" theme! But, like Gila or Tangerine Dream, Virus were by no means plagiarists, what they did was to venture beyond such influences and come up with a style all of their own, resulting in a powerful cosmic excursion that's largely instrumental and full of surprises. Certainly an album of revelations!" (Crack In The Cosmic Egg)

1. Revelation inc. "Paint It Black" Theme
2. Endless Game
3. Burning Candle
4. Hungry Looser
5. Ur Noch Zwei Lichtjahre

Reinhold Spiegelfeld - Bass
Bernd Hohmann - Flute, Vocals
J. Dieter Krahe - Organ
Wolfgang Rieke - Drums
Werner Monka - Guitar

Not my rip - separate flac's with artwork. Thanks to the original uploader from long ago!

Part 1__Part 2__Part 3

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

18 Karat Gold - All-Bumm (1973)
"Only two copies available of this long gone re-issue of the only album by the Lothar Meid led 18 Karat Gold. This 1974 release is very much like late '70's Amon Düül II and indeed 9. features band members who would all work with Amon Düül II at some time or another. A slick production and some great spacey moments sit along side more pop based material. Not a bad album if you like the more commercial material Amon Düül II produced in the mid to late '70's. Housed in a beautiful embossed gold, black plastic case." (freakemporium)

"An early supergroup borne out of the prolific Munich scene fronted by American-German Klaus Ebert. The idea behind 18 Karat Gold seems to have been to present Krautrock in a commercial dilute form to the pop public, but not surprisingly, the idea didn't work on any level, and the band barely lasted a year. Much of the time 18 Karat Gold made their living by working as pop singer Peter Maffay's backing band. Their sole album contained a few minor surprises, but considering the calibre of the musicians, it is generally a disappointing and rather average record, hinting at the direction Amon Düül II were to take in the late 1970's." (Crack In The Cosmic Egg)

1. Going Home
2. Come On Monday
3. Flying
4. Goldrush
5. Star-Eyed
6. Dr. Stein (5%)
7. Elektric Infected
8. I Am Just A Man
9. See Me In Your Dreams
10. If My Guru Would Know
11. Cool

Lothar Meid - Bass
Jörg Evers - Rhythm Guitar
Klaus Ebert - Solo Guitar
Keith Forsey - drums


Note: The packaging didn't lend itself to scanning, being a solid black jewel case with gold-embossed graphics, but I did find some good covers on the web.

Part 1__Part 2__Part 3